Originally established by Elijah Pepper, the distillery was known as the Old Oscar pepper Distillery, and later the Labrot & Graham distillery when it was sold to Leopold Labrot and James Graham in 1878, who owned and operated it (except during Prohibition) until it was sold to the Brown-Forman Corporation in 1941. Brown-Foreman ran the distillery until 1968, then sold it, then bought it back again in 1993, refurbished it, and brought it back into operation. The Woodford Reserve brand was introduced to the market in 1996.
The current building was erected in 183, and stands as the oldest of the nine bourbon distilleries in operation in Kentucky. In 1995 it was listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and in 2000 was designated a National Historic Landmark.Show more