Icons of Whisky Ireland 2020 Results

We reveal who has taken the top spots in this year’s Irish Icons of Whisky
In its third year now having become its own category, the Icons if Whisky Ireland mark that time of the year when Whisky Magazine celebrates and honours the whiskey resurgence of this nation. This has been driven by those people and places nominated in the shortlist for these awards. Those taking the coveted top spots have been chosen for showing particular dedication and drive, taking not just their companies, but the industry too to another level.
Additionally to these winners and highly commended people and places, we are honoured to confer a Hall of Fame award on Tullamore DEW’s own global ambassador John Quinn for his expertise and passion.

We are proud to honour the following as Icons of Whisky Ireland 2020:

Distiller of the Year
Irish Distillers
Highly Commended
Great Northern Distillery

Craft Producer of the Year
Dingle Distillery
Highly Commended
Clonakilty Distillery

Brand Innovator of the Year
Irish Distillers
Highly Commended
Chapel Gate Whiskey

Visitor Attraction of the Year
Highly Commended
Jameson Experience Bow Street

Master Distiller/Blender of the Year
Billy Leighton, Midleton Distillery
Highly Commended
Alex Chasko, Teeling

Distillery Manager of the Year
Darryl McNally, The liberties
Highly Commended
Lyndsey Harkins, Connacht Whiskey

Irish Whisky Ambassador of the Year
Avril Hogan, Dingle Distillery
Highly Commended
Ger Garland, Irish Distillers

Visitor Attraction Manager of the Year
Lisa Jameson, Teeling
Highly Commended
Claire Hickey, Powerscourt

Bar Group of the Year
Chawke Pub Group
Highly Commended
The Porterhouse Group

Bar of the Year
37 Dawson Street, Dublin
Highly Commended
9 Below, Dublin

Bar Manager of the Year
Jim Rafferty, the Dylan Whisky Bar
Highly Commended
Kevin Hurley, Balfes

Bartender of the Year
Aaron Fleming, Celtic Whiskey Bar
Highly Commended
Chris Hennessy, Dylans Whisky Bar

Hotel Bar of the Year
The Tack Room, Adare Manor
Highly Commended
Ashford Castle, Cong

Communicator the Year
Fionnan O'Connor, @AGlassApart
Highly Commended
Bill Linnane, The Irish Independent

Campaign Innovator
Highly Commended
Dublin Liberties

Communications Agency of the Year
Burrell PR
Highly Commended

Advertising Agency of the Year
TBWA, Dublin
Highly Commended
The Public House

Design Agency of the Year
MK Designs
Highly Commended
Red & Grey

Designer of the Year
Mark Keating, MK Designs
Highly Commended
Stephen Heffernan

Multiple Outlets Retailer of the Year
Mitchell & Sons Wine Merchants
Highly Commended
O'Briens Wine Beer & Spirits

Online Retailer of the Year
Celtic Whiskey Shop
Highly Commended

Single Outlet Retailer of the Year
Celtic Whiskey Shop, Dublin
Highly Commended
James Fox Cigar & Whiskey Store, Dublin

Whisky Buyer of the Year
Ally Alpine
Highly Commended
John Cooney

Supermarket of the Year
Highly Commended
Dunnes Stores

Travel Retailer of the Year
Aer Rianta International
Highly Commended
Cork Airport

The awards are sponsored by:
Glencairn Crystal Studio
The Glenturret Distillery
Steklarna Hrastnik
Wade Ceramics
Westrock - MPS